Education staff receive professional awards

By Aileen MacLennan

McNeilly Yvonne.jpg 2
Councillor Yvonne McNeilly

Education staff from across Argyll and Bute recently attended a special awards ceremony in Inveraray to receive their SQA Professional Development Award (PDA) in Education Support.

Louise Lawson, Argyll and Bute Council’s Manager for Inclusion and Equality, presented the certificates on behalf of the council to 18 classroom and additional support needs assistants before congratulating the candidates on their hard work and commitment.

The assistants all contribute to the learning and the health and well-being of pupils across Argyll and Bute and have recently finished almost two years of accredited training, including practical work in schools, closed book assessments and personal study.

The PDA course is designed to support classroom assistants and additional support needs assistants in developing their role in schools and in gaining a wider range of knowledge and skills in relation to pupils with additional support needs.

The council’s Policy Lead for Education and Lifelong Learning, Councillor Yvonne McNeilly, said: “I would like to say a massive congratulations to each and every candidate who has worked extremely hard to achieve this award – they are a credit to the council.

“This course requires a lot of hard work and dedication, and I wish them every success in their careers.”

The following staff received their awards:

Tracey Brogan Carradale Primary School
Mairi MacKinnon Castlehill Primary School
Jowite Kolibska Campbeltown Grammar School
Karen Willett Dalintober Primary School
Norma Grogan Dalintober Primary School
Jayne McCulloch Dalmally Primary School
Eileen MacKinnon Dalmally Primary School
Mari Wilson Gigha Primary School
Iris Teague Hermitage Academy
Clare Dickson Hermitage Academy
Lynsey McPhail Campbeltown Grammar School
Michelle McFadyen Easdale Primary School
Karen Forgrieve Oban High School
Kirsteen Morrison Rothesay Joint Campus
Aleksandra Szim Tarbert Academy
Susan McAlister Rothesay Primary School
Lynne Whittaker Rothesay Joint Campus
Jennifer McArthur Kirn Primary School

Leave a Reply