Bishops John Keenan and Joseph Toal, of Argyll and the Isles.

By Peter Kearney

The Catholic Church in Scotland will welcome four more candidates into the priesthood in July.

Deacons Mark O’Donnell, Kevin Lawrie and Kieran Hamilton will be ordained for the Diocese of Motherwell and Deacon Ronald Campbell will be ordained for the Diocese of Argyll and the Isles.

Six of Scotland’s eight dioceses will receive men into the priesthood in 2019, bringing the total number of ordinations this year to ten.

Commenting on the news, Bishop John Keenan, President of Priests for Scotland, said: “I am delighted that the Catholic Church in Scotland is welcoming four men into the priesthood in July.

“In recent years, there has been a steady and sustained interest from men of various ages and backgrounds, who have answered God’s call and approached our vocations directors to apply for seminary.

“I am particularly grateful to the lay faithful for their prayers and support in encouraging our young men and women to enter religious life.

“we hope that the joy of several ordinations throughout 2019 will bring our people closer to the Church, to Christ and the teachings of the Faith.”

Bishop Joseph Toal, Bishop of Motherwell said:  “It is a great blessing for the Diocese of Motherwell to have four men being ordained priests this summer. We thank God for the gift of their Vocations and look forward to their ministry among us. We are grateful also to all who accompanied them on their journey to priestly ordination – in their families, parishes and seminaries.”

Bishop Brian McGee, Bishop of Argyll and the Isles said:  “I am very much looking forward to ordaining Deacon Ronald Campbell to the priesthood in his home parish of St Mary’s, Benbecula this July. It will be a great occasion for Ronald, his family, his island and all the diocese.”

Other dioceses to receive men into the priesthood this year include the Archdiocese of Glasgow – Br Antony Connelly; the Archdiocese of St Andrews & Edinburgh – Patrick Harrigan and William McQuillan; the Diocese of Dunkeld – Jude Mukoro; the Diocese of Motherwell – Charles Coyle; and the Diocese of Aberdeen – Dominic Nwaigwe

Leave a Reply