By Bill Heaney

Two new non-executive members of Audit Scotland’s board – the organisation which has just made deeper by £2 million the black hole in West Dunbartonshire Council’s budget plans – are to be appointed by the Scottish Commission for Public Audit following an open recruitment exercise, it has been announced.

The tickets for the Gravy Train were handed out today when it was also revealed that the daily rate for Members of Audit Scotland is now £323.76. No wonder the country is broke.

The new members are Jackie Mann, who will take up post on 10 July 2020 and Colin Crosby will take up post on 1 October 2020.

The appointments come at a time of significant change to the membership of Audit Scotland: 

– Professor Alan Alexander was appointed as the Chair of Audit Scotland on 1 April 2020

– Stephen Boyle took up office as the Auditor General for Scotland on 1 July 2020.

– Dr Graham Sharp will demit office as the Chair of the Accounts Commission on 31 July 2020.

– Heather Logan will demit office as a non-executive member on 30 September 2020.

Jackie Mann has more than 30 years’ experience in Human Resources in the UK and overseas, predominantly in the Oil and Gas industry. She has worked in a variety of international locations including USA, Europe, Middle East, and Asia Pacific regions.

Ms Mann has been a Board member for Developing the Young Workforce in North East Scotland for the last 5 years, she served on the Children’s Panel for Scotland for 10 years and is a Justice of the Peace.

Colin Crosby is a Chartered Accountant and Lawyer, spent the major part of his career in Financial Services becoming CEO of a regulated company. Following a change in roles in 2009 he pursued a NXD and chair role with involvement in a broad cross section of Scottish Organisations in the public 3rd and private sectors including – Economic Development, Urban Regeneration, Tourism, IT, Education and Transport.

Audit Scotland is a body corporate established under the Public Finance and Accountability (Scotland) Act 2000.

Audit Scotland consists of:

• The Auditor General for Scotland;
• The Chair of the Accounts Commission; and
• 3 other members appointed by the SCPA.

Under the provisions of the Public Finance and Accountability (Scotland) Act 2000, the non-executive members of Audit Scotland are appointed by the SCPA for a period not exceeding three years and may be re-appointment for a single further term subject to satisfactory performance and the SCPA considering them suitable for reappointment.

Find more about Audit Scotland here:

One comment

Leave a Reply