By Lucy Ashton

Scottish Labour leader Anas Sarwar has unveiled his party’s new look parliamentary frontbench with a focus on the national recovery. 

Recognising the wave of fresh talent in Scottish Labour’s parliamentary group, all of the newly elected MSPs have been given a role in the top team as Anas Sarwar sets out to build the alternative to the SNP. 

Jackie Baillie, MSP for Dumbarton Constituency and Scottish Labour’s Deputy Leader, has been appointed as Scottish Labour’s Shadow Secretary for Covid Recovery and the Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Health and Social Care. These positions shadow the Deputy First Minister John Swinney and the Cabinet Secretary for Health and Social Care, Humza Yousaf.

Jackie Bailie MSP said: “I am delighted to be appointed as Scottish Labour’s Shadow Secretary for Covid Recovery and the Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Health and Social Care.

“There is nothing more important to our community and country at the moment than recovering from the devastation of the pandemic. We need recovery in every aspect of our society, from jobs and the local economy to the education system and our health and social care services. My new roles will allow me to focus on every aspect of our collective recovery and I am particularly glad to be in a role that allows me to fight for our frontline health and social care workers.

“Scottish Labour is serious about recovery and I will hold this government to account in order to ensure that individuals and communities in Dumbarton, the Vale of Leven, Helensburgh & Lomond have the help and support needed.”

Scottish Labour Leader Anas Sarwar said:  “This is a team that brings together the best of the Labour movement with a focus on delivering a national recovery for the people of Scotland. 

“I’m particularly delighted to welcome the new talents to the Labour group, they have already brought an energy and enthusiasm that continues to build on the sense of optimism from the election campaign.

“This team demonstrates a relentless focus on protecting lives and livelihoods and taking the bold action needed to build a fairer and more equal nation coming through this crisis.

“Scottish Labour, under my leadership, will work with anyone in the national interest where there is agreement, but we will not hesitate in pushing the government to go further when it is too timid and we will expose the government’s failures when they get it wrong.

“Across the country, Labour is focusing on what unites the people of Scotland and continuing to build the alternative to the SNP – if you want to be part of that journey join us.” 

The team is:  Leader – Anas Sarwar 

Shadow Minister for Drugs Policy – Claire Baker   

Deputy Leader, Shadow Secretary for Covid Recovery & Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Health and Social Care  – Jackie Baillie 

Shadow Minister for Mental Wellbeing, Women’s Health and Sport – Carol Mochan 

Shadow Minister for Public Health and  Social Care – Paul O’Kane 

Shadow Secretary of State for Scotland – Ian Murray 

Shadow Minister for Parliamentary Business and Transport – Neil Bibby 

Shadow Minister for Land Reform, Islands and Chief Whip – Rhoda Grant

Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Finance and the Economy  – Daniel Johnson 

Shadow Minister for Employment and Public Finance  – Paul Sweeney  

Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Net Zero, Energy and Transport – Monica Lennon  

Shadow Minister for Environment, Biodiversity – Mercedes Villalba 

Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Education and Skills – Michael Marra  

Shadow Minister for Children and Young People, Lifelong Learning and Youth Employment – Martin Whitfield 

Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Justice – Pauline McNeill  

Shadow Minister for Community Safety – Katy Clark 

Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Housing and  Local Government – Mark Griffin   

Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Social  Justice and  Social  Security – Pam Duncan-Glancy 

Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Economic Development and Rural Affairs – Colin Smyth 

Shadow Cabinet Secretary for the  Constitution, External Affairs and Culture – Sarah Boyack  

Shadow Minister for Culture, Europe and  International Development –  Foysol Choudhury

Leave a Reply