* Would all candidates and their agents, if they want to publicise the fact that they are standing for election, please e-mail to their photograph, a short biography and 150 words stating why they are going for election and what their principal aims would be were they to win a seat on the Council? Thanks, Bill Heaney, owner/publisher of The Dumbarton Democrat

Leven (4 councillors) Paula Baker (Scottish Green Party);  Jim Bollan (West Dunbartonshire Community Party);  Ian Dickson (Scottish National Party); Matthew Dillon (Scottish Conservative and Unionist); Ronnie McColl (Scottish National Party);  Michelle Marie McGinty (Scottish Labour Party); John Kelly Millar (Scottish Labour Party) and Sian Wilkie (Independent).

Dumbarton (4 councillors)  Karen Conaghan (Scottish National Party);  Gurpreet Singh Johal (Scottish Labour Party);  David McBride (Scottish Labour Party);  Lynda McEwan (Scottish Trade Unionist Socialist Coalition); Andrew Joseph Muir (Scottish Family Party);  Chris Pollok (Scottish National Party);  Jonathan Rainey (Scottish Libertarian Party);  Brian Walker (Scottish Conservative and Unionist) and Kelly Wilson (Sovereignty)

Kilpatrick (3 councillors) –  David Jardine (Scottish Conservative and Unionist);  Douglas McAllister (Scottish Labour Party);  Lawrence O’Neill (Scottish Labour Party);  Gordon Scanlan (Scottish National Party) and Marina Scanlan (Scottish National Party)

Clydebank Central (3 councillors) –  Diane Docherty (Scottish National Party);  Craig Edward (Scottish Labour Party);  Clare Steel (Scottish Labour Party),  Sophie Traynor (Scottish National Party) and Liam Wilson, Conservative and Unionist Party.

Clydebank Waterfront (4 councillors)  – Brian Michael Lally (Scottish Family Party); Daniel Lennie (Scottish Labour Party); James McElhill (Scottish National Party);  June McKay (Scottish Labour Party); Holly Moscrop (Scottish Conservative and Unionist);  Lauren Oxley (Scottish National Party) and Jacob Toland (Scottish National Party).

That would deliver a Council made up of one Tory, ten Labour, two Community Party, one Independent, two  Family Party and seven SNP with the Provostship probably going to David McBride,  who represents Scottish Labour in the West End of Dumbarton.

We reserve our judgment on this though until nearer the election in five weeks’ time. Events, as Prime Minister Harold Macmillan once said, can change everything in politics …

Election candidates – Jim Bollan, Sally Page,  Jonathan McColl and Douglas McAillister.

When local residents go to the polling stations in May they will vote using the Single Transferable Vote (STV) electoral system.

How does this work? The voter will number the candidates in order of their preference.

Number one would therefore go next to the name of the representative who is their first choice, two next to their second choice, and so on.

There is no limit to the number of preferences a voter can have, they can choose to only select a first choice or rank every candidate.

If you would like to vote in the upcoming election and are not already registered, you can do so here before April 18.


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: