Bravo for Base oscar winners

Submarine Oscars

All the oscar winners from the Clyde Naval Base at Faslane.

By Kim Hardie

In true Hollywood fashion, the red carpet was rolled out at the Double Tree by Hilton Hotel in Glasgow recently for the second annual Submarine Service Awards – The Submarine Oscars.

Serving and retired Submariners, their families, friends and affiliates all dressed up in their glad rags for an evening of glitz and glamour to celebrate the best in the service.

Over 450 people attended the 2018 Submarine Oscars, which were hosted by Rear Admiral John Weale, Rear Admiral Submarines. To add a bit of showbiz glam to the event, the special guest for the evening was Bruce Dickinson, the lead singer with Iron Maiden.

Rear Admiral Weale teamed up with Command Warrant Officer (Submarines), WO1 Andy Knox to perform the duties of Master of Ceremonies for the evening and together they did an excellent job of keeping the audience entertained.

The evening was sponsored and run by the British Forces Foundation with the generous support of the Donald Gosling Foundation, Babcock, Thales UK, Veolia, QinetiQ and Rolls Royce.

Awards presented during the ceremony included:

  • The Conqueror Trophy for operational excellence. The crew of HMS Vengeance picked up this award which was sponsored by Thales UK and presented to Lieutenant Dalrymple.
  • Family Awards. Gemma Brownson, Jan Brennan, Christine Stewart and Kim Cleminson were recognised for the valuable contribution they have made to supporting the families of serving submariners.
  • Howard Johnston Prize. Lt Chris Oakley was presented with a ceremonial sword for Best Principle Warfare Officer (Submarines) Student.
  • Lord Fieldhouse Memorial Prize. Lt Dobson was the recipient of this prize for Best Student on the Intermediate Warfare Course.
  • Industrial Partners Awards. Three awards were presented in this category – the first to Mark Davies and Alan Milroy in the Babcock Graphics Team, the second to Karen-Anne Tryon, Kenny Brown and Kenny McAllan in the Babcock Print Room and the third to Tracy Lafferty, HMS Neptune Mess Manager, all for their support to the Submarine Service.
  • The RNRMW Award. Helensburgh and Lomond Carers were presented with this award for their support to children of serving submariners.
  • The Sovereign Bowl. This award was given to Commander Hopton and his Maritime Engineering Department for consistency of performance during Manoeuvring Room Training.
  • Submarine Engineering Excellence Award. This was presented to the Commanding Officer of HMS Ambush, Commander Sam Owens and his crew.
  • The Max Horton Prize. Lt Kat Bartlett of HMS Artful was the recipient of this award for best officer qualifying for her Dolphins.
  • The Valiant Trophy. This year HMS Ambush picked up this award as the best unit through all elements of Operational Sea Training.
  • Electronic Warfare Prize. CPO Lyon received this award.
  • The Defence Engagement Award. HMS Artful were awarded this prize presented by Gordon Clark of Veolia who sponsored the award.

The Charity, Military versus Cancer also held a raffle during the evening with Bruce Dickinson, the lead singer of Iron Maiden, presenting the prizes which included a Breitling Submarine Service watch and a Spitfire experience, amongst many others.

“I am delighted and honoured to be invited to the 2018 Submarine Oscars,” said Bruce. “I was privileged several years ago to spend some time on a Vanguard Class submarine and witness first-hand the incredible dedication of the submariners.”

Able Seaman (AB) Christopher Knowles was recognised twice during the evening – both as part of the crew of HMS Artful and with a personal commendation from Rear Admiral Weale for his outstanding demonstration of initiative and core values to engender team cohesion by organising various events to maintain the moral of HMS Artful and her crew.

“I feel like the celebrity I always knew I would be,” joked AB Knowles.  “Really though, it is an honour to receive these awards and myself and my family are so proud.”

Rear Admiral Weale also presented commendations for outstanding performance to Lt Deborah Wiseman, WO2 Andrew MacFarlane, CPO John Budge, PO Graham Kimber, ET George Piper, Faslane Flotilla Recovery Cell and the Mechanical Engineering Department of HMS Artful.

In addition, Long Service and Good Conduct Awards were presented to Commander Jim McGuire for 15 years’ service with Clasps recognising 25 years’ service given to Warrant Officer 1 Dean Jones and Warrant Officer 1 Mac McLoughlin.

“I am delighted to host the second annual Submarine Oscars, it has been a truly wonderful evening and I would like to thank all those who made it possible,” said Rear Admiral Weale.

“I would also like to thank all members of the Submarine Service and those who provide support, including the families of our serving submariners. It is wonderful to see so many wives, partners, veterans and industry partners here tonight. Without your ongoing support there would not be a Royal Navy Submarine Service.”

Submarine Oscars

Veteran submariner, Derek Jenkinson with lead singer of Iron Maiden, Bruce Dickinson. Commander Crosby and the ships company of HMS Artful who received the Defence Engagement Award.  Commander Owens, Commanding Officer of HMS Ambush, Commander Hopton, Commanding Officer of HMS Victorious and crew members with the Submarine Engineering Excellence Award pictured with Vice Admiral Sir Simon Lister KCB, OBE. Lieutenant Commander Barr and some crew members from HMS Vengeance with the Conqueror Trophy for operational excellence.


Leave a Reply