Nominees for West Dunbartonshire Sports Awards are announced

Lachie Stewart – inducted into the Sports Hall of Fame.

Active residents have been recognised as the best of West Dunbartonshire’s sporting talent after being named as finalists in the 2018 Community Sports Awards.

The event – organised by West Dunbartonshire Leisure Trust and West Dunbartonshire Council – celebrates sports participation, wellbeing and team spirit across the area.

This year a wide range of sporting disciplines will be recognised including football, gymnastics, martial arts, golf, water sports, Gaelic Football, Athletics and cricket.

Nominees include athletes, coaches, volunteers and sporting officials from local communities and clubs.

They will enjoy a glitzy ceremony in Clydebank Leisure Centre on Friday November 9th, where their amazing level of dedication for their sport will be rewarded. This year’s event will also celebrate the local, regional, national and international achievements of individuals and teams.

And there will be two inductees to the West Dunbartonshire Sports Hall of Fame too.

The 2018 nominees are as follows:

West Dunbartonshire Sports Hall of Fame Inductees

Lachie Stewart – Gold medal winner in the 1970 Commonwealth Games

John Nicolson – founder of D-UNIT Combat Sports and Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu Gold medal winner at 2017 and 2018 European Championships

Coach of the Year

Jennifer Treacy – for work with Glasgow Gaels, Gaelic Football Team

Martin Granger – for coaching Osaka Kwai Judo Club

William Millerfor work with Dumbarton Riverside 2004s

Junior Sports Personality

Adam Richards – Kokusai Karate Kai

Grace Neeson  -Dynamite Gymnastics Club

Oban Duncan – Powerboat

Skye McNicol  – Dynamite Gymnastics Club

Sophie McNeil – Titan Judo Club

Senior Sports Personality

Ivan Lawrence – Vale of Leven Cricket club

Lorna McClymontScottish Golf Performance Academy

Luke Gray – D-UNIT Combat Sports Hub

Team of the Year

Drumchapel Amateurs Walking Football Club

Dumbarton Academy PE Department

Osaka Kwai Judo

St Martins Primary School

WD Gymnastics Club

Volunteer of the year

Cheryl Lappin  – West Dunbartonshire Gymnastics Club

Laura Young – West Dunbartonshire Athletic Club Junior Section

Les Austin – Drumchapel Amateur Walking Football Club

Young coach of the year

Graham Reid – West Dunbartonshire Athletics Club

Jennifer Cuthbert – West Dunbartonshire Gymnastics Club

Joseph Timney – Titan Judo Club

Young Volunteer of the year

Braydon Downs – Christie Park Primary School

Cameron Shaw – Dumbarton United            

The sports awards are supported by sportscotland, West College Scotland, Clyde Shopping Centre and West Dunbartonshire Club Sport.

Leave a Reply